Thread: Male Nurse's Stories Requested by Reporter

Male Nurse's Stories Requested by Reporter

Howdy gentlemen!
    I am a staff writer with Nurse Lounge Magazine. The April 2006 Issue of Nurses Lounge will contain a 'cover' article on men in nursing. I'd love to hear your stories---why you went into the nursing field, how things have been for you since earning your nursing degree and working as a nurse, etc. By posting here,please know it will give me permission to possibly use what you write in my article.
    Thanks SO much.
    I look forward to reading!
    Iris McKairin
    Nurses Lounge

Re: Male Nurse's Stories Requested by Reporter

Two questions:
    1/ Are you interested in nursing student's stories of why they are going into the field?

2/ Would it be possible to run my story without my name or address? I'm already a health professional (podiatrist) and I'd rather not let my new career "go public" locally for fear that people would automatically I'm no longer in practice. Not that I'm ashamed of my new career choice: far from it. Still, once people heard that I was going to nursing school, it could be the kiss of death for my practice. Good story though!!

Hi! Thanks for your response! Your story sounds wonderful! I'd love to read it. I will be happy to use a pseudonym in place of your real name...absolutely no problem there, if it's alright with you.
    Iris

I see that I already posted a question about my career change in the Nurse's Loung forum, but if there's an actual paper magazine and you'd like a fuller story, I can supply that for you.
    Here's another example of the heartache I hope to avoid by getting out of private practice: