Thread: Considering a nursing career...

Considering a nursing career...

Hi everyone,

I just found this forum while researching the nursing profession. I'm currently a student studying mass communication (advertising) and I do not like it anymore and do not wish to work in the field at all. Something about manipulating people into buying things they don't need doesn't make me feel good at all...

I have always wanted to be in health care somehow, but always was intimidated by the science courses. I didn't think I could do well so I stuck to more creative 'right brain' ventures.
    Anyhow, to make a long story short I'm considering furthering my education in medicine. I'm graduating this December and I'm confused. I had first wanted to be a dentist, then a plastic surgeon and now nursing sounds like a great career.

I love interacting with others and I need a job where I am not at a desk and that has variety. I also think being a anesthetist might be a good choice. The guy who put me to sleep last summer for my surgery was a nurse and I couldn't have had a better experience, especially with the nurses both male and female who were helping out after the surgery. I'm also interested in cosmetic stuff...I think plastic surgery is like art on the human body and so fascinating.

Does anyone have any insight or advice for someone in my situation? I want to know for sure I would like this career since it's going to cost me a lot of time and money and I'd hate to give up. All the career test results say I should be in the health care field. I also don't want to feel weird in school if the gender bias is really that bad? Sorry for such a long first post but any advice would be appreciated!! I'm desperate!

-E

You will figure it out.