Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is this really what nursing is about?

Is this really what nursing is about?

I have been a nursing student for 6 months. I am 39 years old, decided to apply to a university after being out on waiting lists for 2 years at the community college level. Iam paying 45K for an associates degree in Los Angeles. I loved studying and every minute of the stress of classes until the day I went to my first clinical on a med-surg floor. My instructor was a beast, my patient broke my heart(im sure this gets better after time) and OMG the nursing staff. Wow I have never seen a bigger pack of wolves:back-stabbing and viciousness, not to metnion they just could not stand nursing students at all. I am on a leave of absence until late August and Iam seriously wondering is this how nursing is...is this field for me.. I know it is a personal question as to whether or not I can return but after reading tons of posts on here and allnurses, there is such a high burn out rate, and enough negativity to make me never want to enter the field. I entered because I was passionate about helping peopl(as general as that sounds)but Id love to hear your thoughts.
    One more thing, Iam wondering should I cut my losses at this point (6K and try for LPN school, then it just might be easier to ladder to RN-if I should decide to do this)

Re: Is this really what nursing is about?

Not all hospitals have those kind of nurses you described.
    So, keep on with the RN program and deal with the negative stuff until you graduate and find a decent place to work.

Ricu

Hey Fab,